Where is Home?

Quite a few of you folks who follow my blog are in some way, shape, or form wanderers. Or maybe you consider yourself a traveler, vagabond, transient, globetrotter, hobo, roamer, drifter, nomad, homeless, or houseless? As previously mentioned, houseless does not equal homeless and as such many of us feel two opposite forces inside of us. Wanderlust has us longing for the wonders of this beautiful, exciting world. Tired of the sameold, we strive to find new adventures, meet new people, and experience life in a different light. On the opposite end of the spectrum is the desire to return to a familiar and save place commonly referred to as a home. Leaving behind uncertainty, we can rest, feel comfortable, and lead a steady and stable life.

While wanderlust seems like an easily identifiable and definable force, home doesn´t appear as clear cut. I strongly believe that home exists independently from houses or dwellings of any kind. For example, I grew up in an apartment that was “home” for many years, yet never once felt homesick. That place was no home; it was merely a dwelling. I am sure many of you have similar experiences.

Now, I propose that home is something along the lines of “positive familiarity”. And yes, that can include a building or things. However, you can feel home around certain people such as friends and family. Your home may be in a certain city or in the woods. Home can be made of many different components; maybe South Africa is your home, but without grandma´s home made malva pudding feels less like such.

I left my original home far behind and created what I refer to as my home base. I don´t live there but frequently return to see friends, family, and familiar places. That´s home. Oh, and my tiny mobile home, of course; we do everything together! In addition, I feel a sense of belonging and being at home in nature. It´s a different kind of home and it´s the best kind: Being a part of nature. It means that I am OK, that I am neither good nor bad, and that I fit in just the way I am.

Where do you feel home? Is your home today the same as your home 10, 20, or 40 years ago? What makes home home?

Take care fellow hobos and enjoy the sun!

8 thoughts on “Where is Home?

  1. My home is where my Michael is. He is my shelter, my nourishment, and my life. We’ve been best friends for over 30 years, married for 27, and all but inseparable. If you ask for my hometown, it will always Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada, but my HOME is anywhere he happens to be.
    Love the blog, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. There isn’t an easy answer for me. I tell people I have a mailbox at a UPS Store in Charlotte, North Carolina. I have a storage unit in Greensboro, North Carolina. From 1979 until I began to live on the road I called Greensboro home.

    Like

  3. As I have written on my own blog (shameless plug), as a so-called homeless person, I feel that I have a home — generally in the neighbourhood of Vancouver, B.C., called Fairview, centred around the South Granville Village area and specifically in a nice, tidy covered parkade within that area. “Home” ultimately is wherever a person feels most comfortable and safe…and where they feel they have the greatest privacy and freedom to be themselves.

    Like

    • Yes, privacy seems to be a big one in regards to calling structures “home”. I wonder if the same is true in non-western cultures, in which privacy is not valued as much… “Wherever a person feels most comfortable and save” – I agree, that feels right. Take care Stanley!

      Like

  4. I have two homes–my van when i’m on the road, as now, and a house i love in a spot i love in Oregon to go back too. I’m blessed to be able to live my retirement fantasy.
    However, I’ve always had the capacity to “nest” very quickly, in hotel/motel rooms, in campsites, wherever i stay for 24 hours or more. All it takes is a few familiar things around me, and voila’!, it’s home for the time being. I even find myself saying “let’s go home” when out hiking with my dog and it’s time to head back to the van.

    Like

What´s on your mind?

