The intersection that I call home

“The intersection I call home” is an amazing post about making a home when living outside. Enjoy!

sqwabb

intersection-freedom-safety

Note: this post began as a commissioned 600-word essay for the September issue of the United Church Observer magazine and is immeasurably better for the edits by both managing editor Jocelyn Bell and editorial intern Elena Gritzan; I thank them—for the opportunity to reach a larger audience, as well as their editorial judgement; flaws will indicate where I have ignored them. I would also like to thank Trinity United’s Doug Jameson, who was probably right when he suggested that I needed an attitude adjustment regarding everything north and east of the Fairview neighbourhood.

* * *

As a long-term homeless person, I now have a much greater understanding and appreciation of home than I ever did when I had a ceiling over my head and four rooms to myself. This is less ironic than it sounds. Before, I simply had no good reason to think critically about what “home” meant.

View original post 546 more words

What´s on your mind?

