The excitement is real!

Believe it or not, I am actually more excited about upgrading my house/vehicle than I was about receiving my Bachelor´s degree.

Here is the deal: I´ve been researching vehicles since late November and after countless hours of reading reviews, comparing specs, calling car companies, and learning about fuel efficiency, transmissions, and horsepower, I finally decided to narrow it down to three finalists: Nissan NV200 Van LWB, Ram ProMaster City, and Ford Transit Connect LWB.

The Ram ProMaster has been on my back burner for a while due to its high cost and lacking availability. In terms of used availability, the Nissan also falls short. So, for the last couple weeks I have been focusing on finding a used Ford Transit Connect.

There has been, however, one problem: the color! Virtually all used vans come in white. Of course, the dealerships would tell ya “Oh no, its not white. Its pearl, glacier, powder, or arctic dust”. Let me make this real clear car industry, I don´t want any of your 7 million shades of white. I am trying to blend in and not look like part of a delivery fleet or creepy van organization. So, I had to get creative and decided to check out the Ford Transit Connect Wagon instead of the van. I knew that both the van and the wagon are on the same wheel base and hoped that the interior wouldn´t be much different as well.

The pictures below show the van and the wagon (in that order). After an hour of crawling around the insides with measuring tape, checking every inch of the vehicles, and test lying in different spots (much to the bewilderment of the car salesman), I decided that the wagon will work just fine once I remove the seats and some extra panels.

IMG_20160608_125850

 

IMG_20160608_125914

Although I was more than willing to purchase the wagon right there and then, the car dealer and I simply could not agree upon a price. However, now that I have a bigger market to choose from, I am excited to continue my car hunt!

10 thoughts on “The excitement is real!

  1. Good choices. These are all designed to serve as urban delivery trucks, yes? Certainly I see Ford Transits being used as such in Vancouver. This means they have a maximum of cargo/living space for their size and they look extremely innocuous on the street. Maybe try for something in a parcel service brown.

    Like

Leave a Reply

