I will never be OK with your decision

One aspect of the hobo life is solitude. Unless you travel the world with your partner or best friend, you will spend some time alone. I’ve always been a loner and I can go days at a time without another person around. Most days, my work and school relationships are sufficient human contact. I do have some friends I spend time with here and there. It’s all good, right?

Well, it isn’t as much the actual human contact, or the lack thereof, that causes the traveling soul to become lonely. I believe it has to do with one’s status within society. See, living outside society’s defined boundaries often elicits a general disapproval. This is based on the notion that everybody wants and ought to live according to what society deemes “normal” and “healthy”. That the hobo can live perfectly fine outside of those standards is not taken into consideration.

“I will never be OK with you decision” was the statement I got from the member of my family I am closest to. I was never looking for any kind of approval; I am a very independent person and make my own decisions. Yet, I get this feeling of being “separate” or “something else”. Quite frankly, I am not sure I feel human anymore.

What else can I say? Be strong you free spirits out there. Swimming against the stream is never easy, but it is worth the freedom we gain.

What´s on your mind?

