Untamed Spirits

Back when I thought I´d be spending my life surrounded by walls, I always envied the one thing most wild animals share: Freedom. Even the most fragile creatures (humans being the exception) are born into nature and quickly learn to navigate their way. What most humans label sophisticated or even superior, I label fake and disabling. Many people in industrialized nations couldn´t survive a night outside and thus are forced to live within society. Granted, many live a quite comfortable life and wouldn’t want it any other way. However, some of us still carry the wild and untamed essence of nature within us and need to roam freely.

I´ve seen into the eyes of many people. I´ve seen happiness, anger, wickedness, sadness, lust; the whole spectrum of human emotion. Nothing has ever moved me as much as seeing a wild spirit trapped and slowly dying.

Here is my personal collection of free animals I´ve gathered over the years (Click on image to enlarge). Enjoy!

Two ducklings after their morning swim. Stuttgart, Germany.

Stuttgart 2011 (24)

Stuttgart 2011 (25)

A very upset bird of prey (a young Ferruginous Hawk maybe?). Wyoming Rocky Mountains, USA.

DSC05054

A little chipmunk doing his hygiene routine. He didn´t mind me watching him. Colorado Rocky Mountains, USA.

DSC04913

A female moose I almost ran into. Colorado Rocky Mountains, USA.

DSC05002

DSC05005

DSC05011

A raven enjoying the city life. Paris, France.

Frankreich 2010 (15)

Butterfly! Georgia, USA.

IMG_70101

 

A hummingbird in action. Estes Park, USA.

DSC04873

DSC04886

This deer is just hanging out in the town. Estes Park, USA.

DSC04940

Not sure what kinda bird this guy is. But he´s handsome! Bodensee, Vienna.

Stuttgart 2011 (244)

Yes, I am really into birds in case you couldn´t tell :). As usual, ask for permission if you´d like to use any of these photographs.

Best wishes to all the tree huggers and hobos out there!

Leave a Reply

